John Heisman, the legendary coach for which college football’s top honor is named, coached at Auburn from 1895-99. Auburn professor Dr. George Petrie actually brought football to Auburn and served as Auburn’s first coach. But he, along with three successors, served as head coach for only one season each. However, Heisman became Auburn’s first ‘full-time’ head coach in 1895, staying on the Plains for five years and posting a record of 12-4-2 during his tenure.

Heisman left Auburn for Clemson and then Georgia Tech, where he lost 10 of 15 meetings with Auburn.

Auburn remains the only school where John Heisman coached to have a player win the Heisman Trophy, with Pat Sullivan winning in 1971, Bo Jackson winning in 1985, and Cam Newton winning in 2010.